Once Possible Candidate Tew Endorses Melina Kennedy

We had heard Kip Tew already endorsed Melina Kennedy for Mayor of Indianapolis the other night at a fundraiser, but now the press release makes it official. Tew joined former Indianapolis Congressman Andy Jacobs in endorsing Melina’s campaign.

Indianapolis–Today, Kip Tew, Chairman of President Barack Obama’s Indiana campaign and former Indiana and Marion County Democratic Party Chairman, endorsed Melina Kennedy. Kennedy said Tew’s endorsement and involvement is key, coming off the heels of guiding one of the most historic presidential campaigns in Indiana history.

“I was also considering running for Mayor myself, but after months of meetings, listening to folks, and watching Melina’s work ethic and ability on the campaign trail, I decided she is the best candidate for our party at this time,” Tew said. “Melina is an experienced job-creator, she is passionate about all of our families’ futures, and her vision of an Indianapolis that reaches higher is something–as a father–I believe in.”

“I spent months working with Kip on President Obama’s campaign and watched his work produce tremendous results. His endorsement of my candidacy is a great boost to my campaign. Campaigns are tough, and Kip’s willingness to stand with me and work together means a lot,” Kennedy said.

ALO is looking to interview both Democrats with open exploratory committees seeking to challenge Mayor Greg Ballard. We’ll let you know what we hear back from Melina and her competitor Brian Williams.


Comments are closed.